Day 194 – #8 Watch a film from each year of my life

nannyI was quite pleased when this film dropped through the door last week.  At last!  I thought, a little light relief!  And it was in a way, I suppose.  I have to say I was a bit disappointed though.  It’s basically a poor man’s Mary Poppins and was entirely predictable from beginning to end.  Having said that I thought Angela Lansbury was great and it was good to see Derek Jacobi in a comedy role.  Colin Firth was irritatingly stupid, I thought.  Normally I quite like him but his character was rubbish.  And Emma Thompson, although the main character, was entirely forgettable.

All in all, it was an easy film to watch and the time passed quickly enough, but I certainly wouldn’t hurry to watch the sequel!

Leave a Reply

