Day 361 – #33 Cook 50 new recipes

pie

The third incarnation of my Christmas Turkey and Ham in Coke required a bit more invention.  I was looking for some kind of pie that I could make to use up some more of the leftovers.  Having had cold cuts, sandwiches and turkey soup we were in need of a bit of change!  So I googled and came across a Rachel Allen recipe for St Stephen’s Day pie.  For those who don’t know, St Stephen’s Day is Boxing Day, so this is perfect for Christmas leftovers.  Rachel’s version can be found here:
http://www.bbc.co.uk/food/recipes/ststephensdaypie_78849

I adapted it slightly as I don’t like mushrooms.  So we had a mixture of leeks and peas instead of onion and mushrooms.  It was flipping lovely but could have done with a bit more “wet” to offset the potato.  Other than that, it was delicious.  Fortunately I also have 2 individual pies that have gone in the freezer 🙂

Leave a Reply

