Day 672 – #8 Watch a film from each year of my life – 3 more watched!

I have another three films to tick off my list.  There have been several films on TV that I’ve recorded so I’ve managed to whittle a few down.

First up was Steel Magnolias
steel magnolias
My sister in law was astonished that I’d never seen this film but it was new to me.  I watched it while Mark was out as it was a bit “girly” for his liking.  I really enjoyed it.  Julia Roberts was great as Shelby and I loved Dolly Parton’s beautician.  All of the women were excellent actually although Shirley Maclaine was playing another irritating bint.  The film was very funny until the tear-jerking twist 😦
Great film that I’d definitely watch again.

Secondly I watched Basic Instinct:
basic instinct
This was another film that I watched on my own while Mark was away in Manchester with work.  He’d seen it before so it didn’t matter if he missed it.  What a horrible and predictable film.  Michael Douglas was wooden and Sharon Stone was horrible.  There was too much unnecessary violence and I didn’t care about any of the characters at all.  2 hours of my life that I won’t get back.

Thirdly was Good Morning Vietnam:
vietnam
I should preface this by saying that I really don’t like Robin Williams.  He annoys me no end.  Couldn’t stand Mork & Mindy and can’t bear watching him.  In fact, the only thing he’s ever done that I liked was Aladdin.  So I wasn’t looking forward to this.
I don’t know if it was a problem with the recording or if it was deliberate but the sound was awful.  You could hardly hear the actors over the background noise.  It was very irritating.  RW was annoying (apart from when he was teaching which was funny) but there was some great dialogue and I enjoyed the film over all.  I wouldn’t watch it again but I was glad that I had seen it.  And it got another one ticked off 🙂

Leave a Reply

