Day 713 – #Complete the Big Read Top 100 books

perfume

While we were in Fowey, we stayed in a lovely house called Jasmine Cottage.  It was decorated really nicely inside (including an Aga!), had a great garden outside which was a real suntrap and was right by a really good pub.  But one of the best things was the range of books they had.  One of which I was delighted to note was on my list of books to read.  Perfume by Patrick Suskind.  I had the notion that this was going to be a love story about a beautiful perfume that was smelled long ago.  And in a way, I suppose it was… Just not in the way I imagined!  Grenouille was a horrible little man that sniffed his way around France, learning the art of Perfumery.  I imagined him in my head like the Child-Catcher from Chitty Chitty Bang Bang!  His ultimate goal was to create the most amazing smell in the world, ever and to become the most famous perfumer in all the world.

It was a captivating book – very well written and you were never quite sure what the outcome was going to be.  Even right until the end.  Great stuff and I definitely recommend it.

Leave a Reply

