Day 867 – #8 Watch a film from every year of my life

414N34FW07L._AA160_We watched The Color Purple a few weeks ago – I hadn’t realised that I’d not updated the blog to reflect this.
I thought I’d read this book when I was at school but I clearly haven’t as it didn’t ring any bells at all.

For anyone who has been living in the dark ages (like me!) it’s a tale about a black woman who is abused by her dad, then married off to a neighbour who carries on the tradition.  Celie’s life only starts to improve when her husband’s mistress arrives and takes a shine to her.  Eventually she gradually finds the strength to change her life for the better.

There are some great moments in the film.  Oprah Winfrey is brilliant as Miss Sophia, Celie’s outspoken daughter-in-law.  Whoopi Goldberg is understated and powerful as Celie.  My favourite scene of the whole film is when Celie goes to the gin joint to watch Shug Avery sing and a fight breaks out.  She’s loving it and it’s a great moment to sit her sitting in amongst all this madness, prim and proper with a great big smile on her face!

Obviously it’s a sad story and is a familiar tale from the deep South of America but it all turns out ok in the end and Celie finds her peace eventually.  I’ve no idea how it compares to the book but it was quite enjoyable to watch.

Leave a Reply

