Day 921 – #93 Do something for charity

When I put this one on the list I had grand visions of me doing something amazing and being sponsored for charity.  Given the decline of my health over this year, that’s not going to happen for this blog!  Maybe the next one?!?

So I had a think about what else I could do that would make a tangible difference.  And I came up with this:
http://wbct.org.uk/about-the-trust/trust-news/1424-destination-lacock-opportunity-to-purchase-at-queenfield-farm

Mark and I are both members of the Wilts & Berks Canal Trust and have already invested some money in the purchase and restoration of The Peterborough Arms (more info here:http://wbct.org.uk/branches/foxham-lyneham/news)  The Trust is gathering momentum and things are progressing all over the length of the restoration, particularly at Pewsham Locks, The PA pub and the Melksham Planning Link has finally navigated the multitude of environmental studies to proceed with the planning application.

So when an appeal was made to purchase a specific length of canal to help with joining up the new Melksham link as far as Lacock I felt I should contribute.  This will help to open a signifcant stretch of the canal and, crucially, will link up to the Kennet & Avon and its captive audience of boaters.  It’s a terrific opportunity.  So I made a large (for me!) donation and also set up a standing order to the ongoing Land Fund.  This second part was almost as important as the first.  If every member of the trust pledged just £10 per month as I have done, then the Trust would be a long way towards having the funds available when these opportunities arise.

Of course, if this post can encourage anyone else to join the Trust and support the magnificent, ongoing work then you can do so here:
http://wbct.org.uk/get-involved/join

17 Canal view

Leave a Reply

