Day 937 – #33 Try 50 new recipes

IMG_0118Two new recipes this week!  Firstly is this beauty on my left….  Chicken & Beetroot risotto.  I have been eating a lot of risotto.  Rice is one of the few things that I can eat without consequence.  It’s not exciting and it gets very samey.  So I thought I’d try some thing a bit difference.  When I was sorting out the veg patch at the weekend I thinned out the roots bed.  Which meant I had a good number of small – medium-sized beetroots to use up.  I’d seen a recipe on the internet for a beetroot & feta risotto and that sparked the inspiration.  I’d already cooked the beetroot, so started off the risotto in the normal way (diced onion in butter, rice added, then stock a ladle-full at a time), then towards the end I added in diced cooked chicken, diced cooked beetroot and some frozen peas.  The whole lot was topped off with grated peccorino cheese.  I have to say, it was delicious!  Mark’s not a fan of beetroot unless it’s pickled and even he liked this one!

 

IMG_0119The second recipe is Chicken & Tarragon pasta.  I don’t eat much pasta at all any more but it fits in to the “bland and boring” food that I can safely eat so….  This was using up the leftover chicken from Sunday’s roast dinner.  I diced a carrot and a parsnip and sauteed them in butter.  Then I added 150ml of chicken stock and let them simmer until softened.  Then I added the diced chicken, some frozen peas and a tiny splash of cream and, of course, some tarragon (I love tarragon!).  Once the pasta was cooked, I stirred it into the sauce and voila!  Another tasty dinner.

Leave a Reply

