Day 992 – #51 & #54 Make a birdhouse out of wood!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

I made a birdhouse for my garden!  I’m really pleased with how it turned out in the end.  I’d seen a picture of something similar on Pinterest that had been for sale on Etsy for $45!  The only similarity in the end is the cork covering but I think it works really well.  The body of the house is made from lolly sticks criss-crossed and glued together.  The base and door way is plywood and the perch & porch uprights are dowel rods cut to size.  The roof was a particular challenge as a) it wasn’t very straight and b) the cork slices weren’t exactly the same thickness….. but it all came together with a bit of patience and (quite) a bit of glue.

I’m delighted and I can’t wait to get it hung up in the garden 🙂

Leave a Reply

