Day 994 – #33 Try 50 new recipes

Nearly there!  Another new recipe from Lean in 15 today.  Turkey Amazeballs.  Firstly, I can now understand why there’s no photograph of this recipe in the book.  It looks pretty grim….

img_0181See what I mean?  I’ve tried to disguise it as best I can with the grated cheese but you can still see the sick sauce underneath.

Again, this is a half-size portion – seems to be about right for us.  The sauce is made from tomatoes, baby spinach, roasted red pepper (from a jar), spring onion and almonds – all whizzed together in a food processor.  Which is where the disgusting colour comes from.  I think if I did it again, I’d just chop the tomatoes, onions and pepper and cook that in the pan with the meatballs.  Then add the spinach later on and maybe top with flaked almonds.  The almonds ground into the sauce just made it taste gritty.

I should add that this isn’t supposed to be served with spaghetti – you are supposed to have more greens.  But my belly can’t cope with too much veg.  As it turns out, it can’t cope with spaghetti very well either…  hey ho!  Not such a great success this one.  But still reasonably tasty and with a few tweaks could be viable.

Leave a Reply

